President Lungu Declares 7 New Districts

President Lungu Declares 7 New Districts

President Edgar Lungu has declared seven new districts to foster rural development and easy administration of the areas.

The following new districts are Chipangali, Lumezi, Kasenengwa, Chasefu, Msanzala, Chifunabuli and Lupososhi.

The minister of Local Government will soon sign SI for creation of Councils.

Zambia now has 114 Districts.

Last week Local Government Minister Vincent Mwale disclosed that the Head of State will soon announce the creation of 6 more new districts.

Mr. Mwale said the President decided to create the districts to ensure delivery of services to the people are brought closer.

However, Mr. Mwale could not give details of the new districts saying the head of state will soon make an announcement to the people.

The creation of the new districts is in a statutory instrument No. 26 of 2018, for the provincial and district boundaries act order 2018.

The Order also deletes boundaries that affect the new districts that include; Chipata, Petauke, and Samfya.

3 Responses to "President Lungu Declares 7 New Districts"

  1. kk   April 12, 2018 at 1:58 pm

    This is good and to bring development to the foot step of pepole and more jobs to youth now this is more money in youth pocket May the good Lord be with you and crown you with good sucess

  2. ROKA   April 12, 2018 at 3:01 pm

    Thanks for Lupososhi District.Sure it comes when I am in the afternoon.Nevertheless, I am appealing to chiefs Chungu and Katuta, to site the Boma between Chungu and Katuta,in the center of these two chiefdom.Those opposing have nothing to say to attract serious attention! It’s up to the people, chiefs, leaders and chiefs of such areas to spearhead the development of the district themselves, not depending entirely on the government.Apapena mwalya.Roads must take the first priority.I wish my grand parents were alive there in Mukolesa and Kapindula villages along Kalinga river!!!

  3. Isaac   April 12, 2018 at 3:15 pm

    The man has scored once again. You cannot have 120 km within one district service delivery becomes difficult. Kudos Mr president!